August 12, 2022


A Dynamic look into sports

Airtel Masaza Cup: Favorites Ssingo Continue Perfection With 3rd Straight Win

Airtel Masaza Cup: Favorites Ssingo Continue Perfection With 3rd Straight Win

Airtel Masaza Cup two-time champions Ssingo FC won their third straight Masangere group game 1-0 away to Buvuma at Kasaali play ground on Saturday.


Micheal Kimuli took over the scoring mantle from usual suspect Amuri Mukasa who scored their only two goals from the previous two games.


Ssingo favorites to win this year’s title, defeated Mawogola FC in their last game now tops the group with maximum nine (9) points.


Ssingo is targeting their third Masaza title having won it in 2015 and 2018.


Else where Buluuli shocked defending Champions Buddu 2-1 in another Masengere Group contest at Mijeera.


Buddu, held in the opener against Mawogola has with a single win, has only managed 4 points from the nine (9).


Adrian Kambale and Dick Kigoye scored for Buluuli and Buddu hitman Bruno Bunyaga scored the consolation.


Kyaddondo held Mawogola to a goalless draw in another Masengere group game.


Record champions Gomba continued to struggle when they played to a 1-1 draw away to Butambala in the Bulange Group game played at Kibibi Playgrounds.


Sam Kalyango found Butambala’s goal in the first half and Abas Kyeyune scored for the visitors in the second half.


In the same group, Mawokota managed their first win of the campaign beating Kabula 3-1 at Kaliro Playgrounds.


Mayanja Abubaker bagged a brace and Arafat Baluku found the othere for the three time champions. Moses Kasagga scored for Kabula.


Action will resume today (Sunday, 17th), with four games from Muganzirwaza Group with Bugerere hosting Busujju at Ntenjeru Playgrounds, Busiro visiting Bulemeezi at Kasana playgrounds and Kyaggwe play host to Ssese at Nakisunga Playgrounds.


Masaza Cup Cast of All Winners:

  • 2021 – Buddu
  • 2020 – Gomba
  • 2019 – Bulemeezi
  • 2018 – Singo
  • 2017 – Gomba
  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012 – Bulemeezi
  • 2011 – Buluri
  • 2010 – Not Held
  • 2009 – Gomba
  • 2008 – Kyadondo
  • 2007 – Mawokota
  • 2006 – Kooki
  • 2005 – Mawokota
  • 2004 – Gomba