August 12, 2022


A Dynamic look into sports

Khalifah Names Uganda U20 Squad For South Africa Duel.

Uganda’s contingent to South Africa comprises of Twenty players and Thirteen officials.


The Uganda U20 Women’s National Team Head Coach, Ayub Khalifa Kiyingi has named the final squad of 20 players that will travel to Johannesburg, ahead of the 2022 FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup Qualifiers return leg against South Africa.


The return leg match of the third round of FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup Qualifiers will be played on Friday, 17th December at Dobsonsville Stadium.


Hadijah Nandago scored the all important goal for Uganda to get maximum points from the first leg that was played at St. Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on 3rd December.


Ayub Khalifah’s squad comprises of three goalkeepers, seven defenders, five midfielders and five forwards.


On form Chrysomolia FC striker Juliet Nalukenge is part of the squad and her club hat-trick over the weekend boasts her confidence going into the tricky return leg.


Kiyinigi believes the named squad has the quality to register the needed result to progress.


“I think these are the best players we have selected to go and do the job. I have the belief that the squad selected is competent to help us secure the result we want,” Khalifah told

“We carry a 1-0 advantage into the second leg but that doesn’t mean we shall go and sit back. We want to go and win in South Africa.” He added.


Uganda’s chances of progressing will hugely depend on the peformance of some key players; on-form Nandago, experienced winger Lilian Mutuuzo, midfielder Kunihira and Fauzia Najjemba’a expertise.


A draw of any sort will see Khalifah’s girls proceed to the next round.


The team will depart Entebbe International Airport on Wednesday morning (2:45AM) aboard Ethiopian Airways E809 and expected to touch base in Johannesburg on Wednesday at 1:05PM.


The winner on aggregate between Uganda and South Africa will progress to the fourth round where they will face either Ghana or Zambia.


Final Squad


Daphine Nyayenga (Lady Doves FC), Joan Namusisi (Kampala Queens FC), Saidah Namwanje (Luweero Giant Queens)


Sumayah Komuntale (Tooro Queens FC), Grace Aluka (Olila High School FC), Biira Nadunga (Olila High School FC), Samalie Nakacwa (Kawempe Muslim FC), Harima Kanyago (Lady Doves FC), Aisha Nantongo (Kawempe Muslim Ladies), Asia Nakibuuka (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC)


Shakirah Nyinagahirwa (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Zaina Nandede (Kataka SHE FC), Catherine Nagadya (Uganda Martyrs High School), Margaret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Kevin Nakacwa (Uganda Martyrs High School FC)


Fauzia Najjemba (Kampala Queens), Hadijah Nandago (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Juliet Nalukenge(Chrysomolia FC), Lillian Mutuuzo(Kampala Queens FC), Eva Naggayi (Rines SS WFC).


Leader of Delegation: Frank Ankunzire (FUFA EXCO Member)

Head Coach: Ayub Khalifa Kiyingi
Assistant Coach: Oliver Mbekeka
Goalkeeping Coach: Mubarak Kiberu
Fitness Trainer: Arthur Kyesimira
Team Doctor: Mable Kabatalindwa
National Teams Officer: Paul Mukatabala Nantulya
Team Coordinator: Joan Namusisi
Equipment Manager: Cissy Nakiguba
Brian Miiro Nsubuga: Delegate (UFRA )
Fred Tamale: Delegate (UFPA)
Ismael Senabulya: FUFA Staff
Media Officer : Farid Mpagi