June 26, 2022


A Dynamic look into sports

KCCA FC edge Onduparaka to close Gap on leaders Vipers


Hebert Achai, Midfielder Usama Arafat and Jurua scored for the Kasasiro boys to take home maximum points against a very resilient Onduparaka side in the StarTimes Uganda Premier league game played on Saturday at MTN Omondi Stadium Lugogo


Former venom Baden Mujaid gave the visitors hope with a 83rd minute long range strike but closely in the 90th minute right back Jurua killed off the game with a season contender to make it 3-1 at full time.


Achai scored from a freekick from 25 yards in the 35th minute after young star Ashraf Mugume was brought down.


Usama doubled the lead in the 60th minute when he robounded on Davis Kasirye initial effort when he was set up by substitute Rogers Mato.


Left back Achai could have given the hosts the lead earlier but his freekick effort in the 18th minute went inches off the mark.


The earlier KCCA FC chances fell to Yassar Mugerwa whose freekick effort was blocked by teammate Revita and right back Jurua tried from close range but was denied by goalkeeper Kagiri in the 7th minute.


Kasirye, close in the 9th minute also failed to find the target for the hosts.


There was a penalty claim for the visitors when Mugume knocked down Shaban in the area but referee Bakasambe was not convinced.


The visitors were impressive before the half time mark Baden Mujaid missing their best opportunity of the half pushing his effort into the side net when he was set up by Shaban.


Danger man Mo Shaban almost levelled matters but his volley effort hit the goal frame in the 50th minute.


Morley Byekwaso introduced Brian Majwega and Mato for Mugerwa and Sekisambu early in the second half which tactically worked out for him.


Substitute Gabriel Matata also got a clear opportunity to score the first for the Caterpillars but was denied by goalkeeper and Captain Benjamin Ochan.


The win guaranteed the Kasasiro boys (39) close the gap to one point with leaders Vipers at 40 points.



Benjamin Ochan, John Revita, Filbert Obenchan, Hebert Achai, Jurua, Yassar Mugerwa, Ashraf Mugume, Gift Ali, Usama Arafat, Erisa Sekisambu, Davis Kasirye.


Derrick Ochan, Brian Majwega, Joseph Bukenya, Rogers Mato, Charles Lwanga, Brian Ahebwa, Innocent Wafula


Onduparaka FC XI

Micheal Kagiri, John Rogers , Patrick Matovu, Dennis Ojara, Davis Mayanja, Abaasi Katerega, Patrick Serunjogi, Emmanuel Oketch, Shaban Muhammed, Baden Mujaid.


Hamza Geriga, Ivan Okello, Posiano Segonja, Gabriel Matata, Ronald Mubiru, Nathan Oloro, Norman Ojik