August 12, 2022


A Dynamic look into sports

Uganda Cup Round of 64: Holders Vipers Visit Kigezi, Entebbe 5-Stars FC Face Tooro.

All StarTimes Uganda Premier League Clubs Will Travel to Face Lower level division Clubs at Round of 64.


Stanbic Uganda Cup holders will start their title defense against Kabale based  Regional league side Kigezi Home Boyz at the round of 64.


The Venoms that defeated BUL FC to win their second Stanbic Uganda Cup title, start their quest for the third title away from home according to the draws held on Monday, January 10 at FUFA House in Mengo.


It is also interesting to note that, Entebbe based Uganda forth tier league side Five Stars FC will play host to StarTimes Uganda Premier league side Tooro United at Entebbe Works play ground.


According to the draws, joint record winners Express FC and KCCA FC will both travel to face PCCP FC and Busia United at this round.

Its also important to note that, for the first time, the round of 64 will not witness an all Uganda Premier League affair with all top flight sides handed draws away to lower division outfits.

The Jogoos chasing their 10th title, will visit Super Eagles FC while Mbarara Citu will make a trip to face Six O’Clock FC.


URA FC will also travel to play Total, while Police FC will make a long trip to western Uganda to face Bushenyi Veterans FC.


Another anticipated exciting duel will be between two West Nilers Paidha United FC and UPL side Onduparaka FC.


The StarTimes Uganda Premier league and FUFA Big League Clubs will play their ties away from home, with the round of 64 games set to be played on a one leg tie.


According to FUFA Competitions director Aisha Nalule, the rpund of 64 matches will be played between January 18-30.


The prize money has been increased by UGX 13 millions from UGX 166 million last season to UGX 179 million by sponsors Stanbic Bank Uganda and Plascon Paints.


The winner of the competition and the runner up will bag 50 million and 25 million respectively.


The semi finalists (2 teams), will each take 12 million and the four teams that will loose in this years’ Quarter Finals will take 6 million each.


The 8 teams that will make it to the round of 16, but fail to make it to the quarters, will take home 3 million each.


The 16 teams that will have made it to the round of 32 will get 2 million each.


Express FC and KCCA FC have shared 20 titles between themselves, with each winning it 10 times.


SC Villa has managed 9 titles, with Simba, Coffee, Mbale, Victors, Vipers wining it twice each.


Proline, UEB, Nsambya Old Tymers, Victoria University are other one time winners..


The full Round of 64 draw

-Rusekere FC vs Kataka FC
-Heroes FC vs Gadafi FC
-Booma FC vs Nyamityobora FC
-Seeta Utd FC vs Tepa FC
-Kajjansi Utd FC vs MYDA FC
-Six O’Clock FC vs Mbarara City FC
-Kiyinda Boys FC vs Wakiso Giants FC
-Kalongo Utd FC vs Adjumani TC FC
-Bushenyi Veterans FC vs Police FC
-Paidha Utd FC vs Onduparaka FC
-Kigezi Homeboyz FC vs Vipers SC
-Kireka Young FC vs Kitara FC
-SC Tawai vs Ndejje University FC
-Basere FC vs Luwero Utd FC
-Super Eagles FC vs SC Villa
-Total FC vs URA FC
-Busia Utd FC vs KCCA FC
-Nsambya SC vs Kyetume FC
-Ateker FC vs Lugazi Municipal FC
-Jinja North Utd FC vs Maroons FC
-PCCP FC vs Express FC
-Bujumbura Utd FC vs Paidha Black Angels FC
-Iganga Young FC vs Calvary FC
-Tipsa FC vs Arua Hill FC
-Five Stars FC vs Tooro Utd FC
-Impala Hill FC vs Proline FC
-NEC FC vs Admin FC
-Kisugu FC vs Busoga Utd FC
-Bundimasoli FC vs BUL FC
-Mbale Heroes FC vs Blacks Power FC
-Soroti FC vs UPDF FC
-Free Stars FC vs Bright Stars FC


Stanbic Uganda Cup Previous Winners Since 2000

2000 – SC Villa
2001 – Express
2002 – SC Villa
2003 – Express
2004 – KCCA FC
2005 – URA
2006 – Express
2006/07 – Express
2007/08 – Victors
2008/09 – SC Villa
2009/10 – Victors
2010/11 – Simba
2011/12 – URA
2012/13 – Victoria University
2013/14 – URA FC
2014/15 – SC Villa
2015/16 – Vipers SC
2017 – KCCA FC
2018 – KCCA FC
2019 – Proline FC
2019/20 – Not held
2020/21 – Vipers SC
2021/22 – ???