August 12, 2022


A Dynamic look into sports

Gaddafi get the better of Villa

A dismal SC Villa suffered a fourth loss of the season as they fell to a 2-1 loss to Gaddafi FC in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League at the Gaddafi Arena on Friday.

The tally of losses has only come in just eight matches and has condemned head coach Petros Koukouras to early pressure.

Villa took the lead through a Umar Kyeyune own goal whereas goals from Hassan Musana and Jamal Buchochera sealed the deal for Gaddafi.

Villa almost grabbed a fifth minute breakthrough but Isaac Ogwang’s effort off Garvin Kizito’s pass was inches over the bar.

Five minutes later, Gaddafi FC’s Umar Kyeyune unluckily connected Sadam Masereka’s in his own net for the visitors’ opener.

Their win did not last long as ten minutes later, Hassan Musana scored the equalizer through a 20th minute penalty.

At 27 minutes, Karenzi Buchochera thought he had extended Gaddafi’s score but his strike was denied by the woodwork.

Five minutes to the end of the half, Masereka’s shot off a Nicholas Kabonge pass missed the target by a whisker to deny Villa a second.

Eight minutes after restart, James Otim’s shot from outside nearly got Villa goalkeeper, Meddie Kibirige off guard, but it could only miss the target by an inch.

In the 66th minute, Bakari Magumba headed in a Villa empty net but the flag was already up to deny Gaddafi a second.

In the 76th minute, the home team took the deserved lead for the first time in the match through Buchochera’s clean strike past custodian, Kibirige.

Villa, in their search for an equalizer, were dented a huge blow as Amir Kakomo was given a straight red card for elbowing Yunus Sibira.

How they lined up:

Gaddafi: Ronald Mutebi, Karenzi Buchochera, Umar Kyeyune, Hassan Musana, Bakari Magumba, Yunus Sibira, Franco Onen, Amos Kiirya, Faisah Muwawu, Bithum Nsubiano, Brian Kalumba.


Substitutions: Paul Mujampwami, Paul Musamali, Ibrahim Masa, Mark Bamukyaye, James Otim, Davis Bukomba, Alex Kitata.


Villa: Meddie Kibirige (GK), Gift Fred, Garvin Kizito, Saddam Masereka, Joseph Kafumbe, Kenneth Semakula, Goffin Oyirworth, Amir Kakomo, Isaac Ogwang, Salim Abdallah, Nicholas Kabonge.

Substitutions: Martin Ssenkooto (GK), Fred Agandu, Benson Muhindo, Iddi Abdulwahid, Umar Lutalo, Derrick Sekiranda, Oscar Mawa.