June 27, 2022


A Dynamic look into sports

Standard High Zana, St Noa Defeat Aidan College To Win Aggrey Zone Titles.



STAHIZA and St Noa Girls have both defeated Aidan College to claim USSSA Aggrey Zone schools’ Championship.


Former Uganda Cranes star Nestroy Kizito won his first trophy as Standard High School Zana (STAHIZA) head coach after a hard faught win against minnows Aidan College in the Wakiso District Aggrey zone qualifiers’ final played today Friday at Lufuka play ground in Zana.


Hon. David Serukenya and Justus Mugisha accompanied by others to inspect the teams.


Kizito needed a 90th minute penalty to see off a very resilient Aiden College side to lift the title.


Midfielder Henry Kato converted the penalty in the last minute of normal time after reckless play in the area on STAHIZA danger man Mudiba.


This is the first title for the former Ugandan international and Partizan Belgrade left back and was delighted with it speaking to Sports256 after the match.


Kizito greeting former footballer Jimmy Mukubya the head coach of St Noa Girls


We expected such kind of resistance from such a School but we are happy with the result. I thank every one from the director STAHIZA, fellow coaching staff, players and the fans. We go to the next step and each level needs different approach. Nestroy told Sports256


STAHIZA eliminated Zzana Mixed (2-0) to reach the finals and Aidan needed a penalty shot-out to eliminate St Mary’s Katale (7-6) after a 1-1 draw.


Serukenya flanked by VP Justus Mugisha with the trophies that were won.


In the girls final, that was played earlier at 2pm, St Noa defeated Aidan College 2-0 in a game that was a one dog’s race.


St Noa Girls team celebrating the title.


Federation of Uganda Football (FUFA) First Vice President and STAHIZA director Justus Mugisha, applauded the the schools that managed to take part amidst all the challenges schools have gone through in the previous years.


VP Justus Mugisha and Hon. David Serukenya


I want to congratulate and thatnk the few teams that have participated , because we have many schools in the zone but a few have managed. I also to congratulate Hon. Serukenya for making it to Parliament, I want to thank the match officials, am satisfied with the way they have done their work , I want to congratulate Aidan College for the great show they have really put up a fight. In a special way I want to thank the director and head teachers for financing these teams.

Where we have gone now the winners will qualify for Copa in Arua and the winners there will play in Tanzania for the Eaat Africa games.

I lastly, congratulate the organizers for the great work and people of the pitch for producing alot of talents. Mugisha added.


Makindye Ssabagabo member of Parliament David Serukenya who was the chief guest, promised more financial support to talent development in the constituency.


I great you all in the name of Jesus Christ, I want to thank the head teachers, teachers, participants, fans and everyone for the success today. We want to do our best to go back to primary schools to uplift talents from down to hear. It’s really unfortunate that even talented young kids that would earn from their talents are also fighting to take on political offices

We want people to earn from their talents, am going to work hand in hand with the likes of these people that u derstand the game alot; ( Mugisha, Nestroy) and see how we can start a team (Clear FC) that will be benefiting from Serukenya’ s salary. It’s our obligation as leaders to identify these talents and help them develop. I want to encourage those that have not won today not to loose hope because there is alot to fight for at the level we are going to.

In 2016, i was cheated, but I never have up and am an MP now, so let’s be one, we want a Ssebagabo with out fights. Finally, I want to appreciate the people that have turned up today.


The games that started on March 7th were played on two pitches; Aidan College and Lufuka, have climaxed today 11th at Lufuka Zzana.


Only five girls teams and Eight boys’ teams participated and were drawn into two groups;


Group A had; Standard High School Zana, Aidan College School, Aggrey Memorial School
and Lubugumu Jamia.


Group B had; Zzana Mixed, Zana Christian High School, St Mary’s Katale and Bank hill College.


Mugisha handed over the trophies and medals to second placed teams and the chief guest Hon. Serukenya handed over the trophy to Standard High School Zana.


Serukenya, Standard High School director Justus Mugisha, Aidan College director Hon. Sempala Kigozi sponsored the event with Trophies, medals, sound systems and tents.


Standard High School Zana Squad;



Allan Rothomio, Bashir Kintu, Henry Kato, Aron Okwi, Alex Mugengi, Anthony Nsumba, Muddiba Samuel, Roanld Kalumba, Hassan Kalungi,Shafic Mavuma, Moses Lutete, Bashir Kintu, Kasim Kabazi, Twesigye, Kayizzi, Lubega.


Aiden College Squad;


Arnold Sebatta, Dickson Olumu, Hassan Nyanzi, Codras Mugalu, Norman Kawooya, Matenda Shafic (C), Yusuf Kakooza, Sadat Kyalula, Jintah Micheal, Uthman Lule, Chrisuel Akampa, Reagan Kakaire, Kent Kabalu, Pamek Mukasa, Bruno Kaweesi, Julius , Brian Rothomio


The Aggrey Zone Qualifiers organising Committee comprised of;

Chairman- Moses Onyango ( Zzana Mixed)

Vice Chairperson – Bwogi Moses (Aiden College)

Secretary- Talame Sharif (Penron High School)

Kizito Kato -Treasurer (St Mary’s Katale)

Muhereza Benson – STAHIZA ( member)

Kige Dennis – Technical (Zzana Mixed)

Mr Sentumbwe ( St Noa Girls) – Member