August 12, 2022


A Dynamic look into sports

Beach Soccer: St Lawrence University Wins Forth National League Title.

Beach Soccer: St Lawrence University Wins Forth National League Title.

St Lawrence University have been crowned champions of the 2021/22 Pepsi National Beach Soccer league after an impressive 9-5 victory over Buganda Royal in the final at the FUFA Technical center in Njeru.



This was SLAU forth league title having won it in 2012/13, 2018/19 and 2020/23 seasons.


SLAU, impressively knocked out 2016/17, 2014/16 and 2011/12 champions MUBS 6-1 to reach the finals.


Newly elected Most Valuable player Baker Lukooya, Joshua Lubwama and Defenders Allan katwe, Jonathan Kikonyongo scored in the 6-1 humiliation of MUBS to reach the final.


In other semi-final playoff, Buganda Royal beat KIU 7-3 to reach the final.


Golden boot winner Ambrose Kigozi and Paul Lule managed a brace each, Hassan Luboyera, Ronald Magwari and Ibrahim Ssekankoni found a piece each for the Buganda Kingdom Institute.

Nigerian import and a former MVP Isaac Eshioke, bagged a brace for KIU and Luboyera put the other in his own net.


Buganda Royal’s Samson Kirya won the Golden glove and his teammate Kigozi was top scorer with 36 goals.


Tonny Ssebagala scooped the coach of the season award.


SLAU, Buganda Royal, MUBS, KIU, Jinja Lions, Kiringente are the clubs that participated in this year’s Beach soccer league.


MUBS, SLAU are two sided that won
more titles than Isabeti Bsc.


Other individual Award(s) winners

MVP -: Baker Lukooya, St Lawrence University BSc


Top Scorer – Ambrose Kigozi (36 goals), Buganda Royal


Best Goalkeeper -Samson Kirya, Buganda Royal  BSC.


Best Coach– Tonny Ssebagala, Buganda Royal  BSC.


The Best five of the season.



Samsom Kirya- Buganda Royal, Jonathan Kikonyogo -St Lawrence BSC, Allan Katwe- St Lawrence BSC , Baker Lukooya -St Lawrence BSC , Ambrose Kigozi -Buganda Royal BSC


A cast of previous winners

2020-2021 – St Lawrence University
2019-2020- Interupted by COVID
2018/19- St Lawrence University
2017-2018 –Isabeti Bsc
2016-2017- MUBS
2015-2016 – Nkumba Select (Isabeti)
2014-15 – MUBS
2013-2014- Kira Young
2012-2013- St Lawrence University
2011-2012- MUBS
201O-2011- Kabalagala rangers
2009-2010- Braza Braza
2009 -Club Tinka